2014 Academy Award Nominations

2014 Academy Award Nominations –

Best Picture

American Hustle
Captain Phillips
Dallas Buyers Club
12 Years a Slave
The Wolf of Wall Street

Best Director

Martin Scorsese, The Wolf of Wall Street
Alexander Payne, Nebraska
Alfonso Cuarón, Gravity
Steve McQueen, 12 Years A Slave
David O. Russell, American Hustle

Best Actor:

Matthew McConaughey, Dallas Buyers Club
Chiwetel Ejiofor, 12 Years a Slave
Leonardo DiCaprio, Wolf of Wall St
Bruce Dern, Nebraska
Christian Bale, American Hustle

Best Actress:

Amy Adams, American Hustle
Cate Blanchett, Blue Jasmine
Sandra Bullock, Gravity
Judi Dench, Philomena
Meryl Streep, August: Osage County

Best Supporting Actor

Barkhad Abdi, Captain Phillips
Bradley Cooper, American Hustle
Michael Fassbender, 12 Years a Slave
Jonah Hill, The Wolf of Wall Street
Jared Leto, Dallas Buyers Club

Best Supporting Actress

Lupita Nyong’o, 12 Years a Slave
Jennifer Lawrence, American Hustle
June Squibb, Nebraska
Julia Roberts, August: Osage County
Sally Hawkins, Blue Jasmine

Animated Feature

The Croods
The Wind Rises
Despicable Me 2
Ernest & Celestine

Animated Short Film

“Feral” – Daniel Sousa and Dan Golden
“Get a Horse!” – Lauren MacMullan and Dorothy McKim
“Mr. Hublot” – Laurent Witz and Alexandre Espigares
“Possessions” – Shuhei Morita
“Room on the Broom” – Max Lang and Jan Lachauer

Best Adapted Screenplay

“Before Midnight” – Written by Richard Linklater, Julie Delpy, Ethan Hawke
“Captain Phillips” – Screenplay by Billy Ray
“Philomena” – Screenplay by Steve Coogan and Jeff Pope
“12 Years a Slave” – Screenplay by John Ridley
“The Wolf of Wall Street” – Screenplay by Terence Winter

Original screenplay

“American Hustle” – Written by Eric Warren Singer and David O. Russell
“Blue Jasmine” – Written by Woody Allen
“Dallas Buyers Club” – Written by Craig Borten & Melisa Wallack
“Her” – Written by Spike Jonze
“Nebraska” – Written by Bob Nelson


“The Grandmaster” Philippe Le Sourd
“Gravity” Emmanuel Lubezki
“Inside Llewyn Davis” Bruno Delbonnel
“Nebraska” Phedon Papamichael
“Prisoners” Roger A. Deakins

Costume Design

“American Hustle” – Michael Wilkinson
“The Grandmaster” – William Chang Suk Ping
“The Great Gatsby” – Catherine Martin
“The Invisible Woman” – Michael O’Connor
“12 Years a Slave” – Patricia Norris

Documentary – Feature

“The Act of Killing” – Joshua Oppenheimer and Signe Byrge Sørensen
“Cutie and the Boxer” – Zachary Heinzerling and Lydia Dean Pilcher
“Dirty Wars” – Richard Rowley and Jeremy Scahill
“The Square” – Jehane Noujaim and Karim Amer
“20 Feet from Stardom” – Nominees to be determined

Documentary – Short Subject

“CaveDigger” Jeffrey Karoff
“Facing Fear” Jason Cohen
“Karama Has No Walls” Sara Ishaq
“The Lady in Number 6: Music Saved My Life” Malcolm Clarke and Nicholas Reed
“Prison Terminal: The Last Days of Private Jack Hall” Edgar Barens

Film Editing

“American Hustle” – Jay Cassidy, Crispin Struthers and Alan Baumgarten
“Captain Phillips” – Christopher Rouse
“Dallas Buyers Club” – John Mac McMurphy and Martin Pensa
“Gravity” – Alfonso Cuarón and Mark Sanger
“12 Years a Slave” – Joe Walker

Foreign Language

“The Broken Circle Breakdown” – Belgium
“The Great Beauty” – Italy
“The Hunt” – Denmark
“The Missing Picture” – Cambodia
“Omar” – Palestine

Hair and Makeup

“Dallas Buyers Club” – Adruitha Lee and Robin Mathews
“Jackass Presents: Bad Grandpa” – Stephen Prouty
“The Lone Ranger” – Joel Harlow and Gloria Pasqua-Casny

Original Score

“The Book Thief” – John Williams
“Gravity” – Steven Price
“Her” – William Butler and Owen Pallett
“Philomena” – Alexandre Desplat
“Saving Mr. Banks” – Thomas Newman

Original Song

– “Alone Yet Not Alone” from “Alone Yet Not Alone”
Music by Bruce Broughton; Lyric by Dennis Spiegel
– “Happy” from “Despicable Me 2”
Music and Lyric by Pharrell Williams
-“Let It Go” from “Frozen”
Music and Lyric by Kristen Anderson-Lopez and Robert Lopez
-“The Moon Song” from “Her”
Music by Karen O; Lyric by Karen O and Spike Jonze
-“Ordinary Love” from “Mandela: Long Walk to Freedom”
Music by Paul Hewson, Dave Evans, Adam Clayton and Larry Mullen; Lyric by Paul Hewson

Production Design

“American Hustle” – Production Design: Judy Becker; Set Decoration: Heather Loeffler
“Gravity” – Production Design: Andy Nicholson; Set Decoration: Rosie Goodwin and Joanne Woollard
“The Great Gatsby” – Production Design: Catherine Martin; Set Decoration: Beverley Dunn
“Her” – Production Design: K.K. Barrett; Set Decoration: Gene Serdena
“12 Years a Slave” Production Design: Adam Stockhausen; Set Decoration: Alice Baker

Live Action Short Film

“Aquel No Era Yo (That Wasn’t Me)” – Esteban Crespo
“Avant Que De Tout Perdre (Just before Losing Everything)” – Xavier Legrand and Alexandre Gavras
“Helium” – Anders Walter and Kim Magnusson
“Pitääkö Mun Kaikki Hoitaa? (Do I Have to Take Care of Everything?)” – Selma Vilhunen and Kirsikka Saari
“The Voorman Problem” – Mark Gill and Baldwin Li

Sound Editing

“All Is Lost” – Steve Boeddeker and Richard Hymns
“Captain Phillips” – Oliver Tarney
“Gravity” – Glenn Freemantle
“The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug” – Brent Burge
“Lone Survivor” – Wylie Stateman

Sound Mixing

“Captain Phillips” – Chris Burdon, Mark Taylor, Mike Prestwood Smith and Chris Munro
“Gravity” – Skip Lievsay, Niv Adiri, Christopher Benstead and Chris Munro
“The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug” – Christopher Boyes, Michael Hedges, Michael Semanick and Tony Johnson
“Inside Llewyn Davis” – Skip Lievsay, Greg Orloff and Peter F. Kurland
“Lone Survivor” – Andy Koyama, Beau Borders and David Brownlow

Visual Effects

“Gravity” – Tim Webber, Chris Lawrence, Dave Shirk and Neil Corbould
“The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug” – Joe Letteri, Eric Saindon, David Clayton and Eric Reynolds
“Iron Man 3” – Christopher Townsend, Guy Williams, Erik Nash and Dan Sudick
“The Lone Ranger” – Tim Alexander, Gary Brozenich, Edson Williams and John Frazier
“Star Trek Into Darkness” – Roger Guyett, Patrick Tubach, Ben Grossmann and Burt Dalton

No comments yet.