Australian Academy of Cinema and Television Arts


Hollywood heads home for the AACTA Awards

Nicole Kidman is heading home to Sydney to join Geoffrey Rush, Russell Crowe, and Cate Blanchett at Australia’s top screen awards, broadcast on Network Ten next week.

The Australian Academy of Cinema and Television Arts (AACTA) Awards Ceremony will mark the first time the four performers – each Oscar, BAFTA, Golden Globe and AFI Awarded – have been in the same room at the same time.

They will be joined by more than 1,000 Australian film and television performers and practitioners at The Star Event Centre, Sydney, attending the 2nd AACTA Awards – the biggest night on the industry’s calendar.

Russell Crowe was this week announced as host of the AACTA Awards Ceremony, and newly announced attendees include Ashleigh Cummings, Rob Carlton, Erik Thompson, Sarah Snook, Susie Porter, Matt Nable, Brendan Cowell, Stephen Curry, Dan Wyllie, Alex Dimitriades, Gracie Otto, Megan Gale, Brenna Harding, Sophie Lowe and Richard Roxburgh.

The 2nd AACTA Awards Ceremony will be broadcast on Network Ten, Wednesday 30 January at 9:30pm.

AACTA President, Geoffrey Rush, said:

“In just 18 months, the new Australian Academy has become an established and essential part of our national screen industry. An AACTA Award is the ultimate mark of peer-assessed excellence for Australian film and television performers and practitioners, and I’m delighted that Russell, Nicole and Cate, who internationally champion the Australian industry and personify the talent we produce in this country, are joining me at this year’s AACTA Awards to honour our home-grown talent and to unite our industry via the Australian Academy.”

Russell Crowe, host of the AACTA Awards Ceremony, said:

“I’m honoured to host this year’s AACTA Awards – a celebration of Australian culture and screen achievement. It’s fantastic that we now have an Australian Academy, which has established an Awards presence in the States, and an Awards season to be proud of at home. I’m really looking forward to being in the same room with Geoffrey, Cate and Nicole; it will be the first time we have been together since before they made us into stamps.” *

AFI | AACTA CEO, Damian Trewhella, said that the ilk of Australian talent attending this year’s AACTA Awards attests to the mark that the Academy is making in both Australia and internationally.

‘’AACTA is focused on nurturing and recognising our home-grown talent, and promoting this around the world. In doing so, we create new opportunities for our talented screen professionals, and greater reach for the fantastic Australian stories they tell on the big and small screens.

“The Australian Academy is building a community of members in Australia and in the U.S. in order to nurture our talent, led by our esteemed President, Geoffrey Rush, and by having our four Oscar, BAFTA, Golden Globe and AFI awarded performers come together for the first time for the AACTA Awards shows a new- found pride in the significance of our Academy and our Awards.

‘’In addition to the very special moments our show will capture in honouring our nation’s finest performers, practitioners and productions, those watching in the room and at home on Network Ten are in for great entertainment, with Russell Crowe as host, and some stellar musical acts about to be announced. Our aim is for the Australian public to tune into our great show, and be proud of the film and television that we award, which is such a big part of our culture, as well as the people who create this,” Trewhella said.

NSW Premier Barry O’Farrell said securing world-class Oscar winners Nicole Kidman, Russell Crowe, Cate Blanchett and Geoffrey Rush to attend the AACTA Awards was a coup for AACTA and for Sydney, the heart of Australia’s film and television industry and the home of the AACTA Awards.

“I am delighted to welcome Sydney’s own Nicole Kidman and her supremely talented peers Russell Crowe, Cate Blanchett and Geoffrey Rush to Australia’s global city for the AACTA Awards,” Mr O’Farrell said. “Attracting award-winning Australian talent of this calibre to Sydney for the AACTA Awards is testament to its prestige and importance to the Australian screen industry. The NSW Government, through our tourism and major events agency Destination NSW, is pleased to support this year’s AACTA Awards, a key creative industries event on the NSW Events Calendar.”

* In January 2009, Australia Post issued a series of commemorative stamps featuring the faces of Cate Blanchett, Russell Crowe, Nicole Kidman and Geoffrey Rush, who were named ‘Australian Legends of the Screen’. These four actors were celebrated for their international reputations, and for winning Hollywood’s greatest honour, an Academy Award, for their acting.



No comments yet.