Australian Academy Calls for AACTA Awards Entrants, Announces New Television Awards

The search is on for Australia’s most outstanding film and television performers, practitioners and productions, with the Australian Academy of Cinema and Television Arts (AACTA) today calling for entries and jurors for the 3rd AACTA Awards.

The 3rd AACTA Awards will be held in January 2014 in Sydney.


In February 2013, AACTA announced a review of its current Awards based on: a mandate to work with Guild representatives to identify industry needs; the findings of AACTA’s recent Additional Awards Campaign Survey; and AACTA’s current financial and resource challenges (resulting from the loss of its naming rights sponsor, and the need for greater industry support).

Subsequently, AACTA and Guild representatives formed a group to discuss and agree which Awards could and should be presented at the 3rd AACTA Awards in Sydney in January 2014.

AACTA today announces that a total of 40 AACTA Awards will be bestowed, just one less than at the 2nd AACTA Awards.

Feature film Awards remain unchanged (14 AACTA Awards), six new television screen craft Awards have been introduced (with a total of 20 television awards), three dedicated documentary Awards will be bestowed (with many documentary entries able to enter into the slate of new television craft Awards), and two short film categories will be awarded. The AACTA Raymond Longford Award, and the Byron Kennedy Award will be presented as usual, and an Audience Choice Award will be announced later in the year.

In addition to assisting with determining the slate of Awards for the 3rd AACTA Awards, AACTA is also working closely with Guild representatives on the long term direction and development of the AACTA Awards for 2015 and beyond, and will announce the details of a working group towards this.

As part of this ongoing review, the following AACTA Awards have been placed on hold for the 3rd AACTA Awards, but will be revisited for 2015, pending the necessary financial and screen sector support required to deliver them: AACTA Award for Best Screenplay in a Short Film; Best Visual Effects; and, Best Young Actor. The following documentary-specific craft Awards – Best Direction, Best Cinematography, Best Editing and Best Sound in a Documentary – will also be placed on hold.


As part of the review, six new AACTA Awards have been introduced to recognise television screen craft excellence; Best Cinematography in Television; Best Editing in Television; Best Sound in Television; Best Original Music Score in Television; Best Production Design in Television; and Best Costume Design in Television.These Awards were introduced following a proposal submitted by a consortium of more than 40 screen practitioners and performers, numerous production companies and industry Guilds in 2012. Adding weight to this proposal was the overwhelming support identified by the AACTA Additional Awards Campaign Survey; 94% of 404 screen professionals surveyed supported the six television screen craft Awards which will now be implemented for the 3rd AACTA Awards.

AFI | AACTA CEO, Damian Trewhella, said:

‘’Reviewing the AACTA Awards will be a continual process in order to reflect industry trends, ensuring the relevancy and therefore worth of the Awards within Australia and aboard. We are very pleased with the input and collaboration of the Guilds in working with AACTA to determine the slate of 3rd AACTA Awards, and plan to continue this into the future. Together we have created Awards which achieve greater inclusivity for more screen crafts than before, particularly within the television sector.

“The new slate of television Awards provides an excellent example of what is possible when the industry rallies together to support the AACTA Awards, and it is this level of support and engagement which is necessary to expand the AACTA Awards into the future.

‘’We also reviewed the AACTA Awards in light of AACTA’s economic challenges, and whilst a small number of AACTA Awards will need to be put on hold for the moment largely due to the considerable administrative process they require, the fact that we are presenting just one less AACTA Award next year compared with this year is a good result.’’

Kingston Anderson, Executive Director of the Australian Directors Guild, who was part of the Guild representatives group consulting on the AACTA Awards review said:

“By working together, AACTA and the Guilds have created new AACTA Awards which are inclusive of more screen crafts than before. We have also created a positive, collaborative path for the future. We know that the industry wants to extend the slate of AACTA Awards to further represent Australian screen craft excellence, and garnering the industry support necessary to achieve this will be one of our main aims.”

The proposal for new television screen craft Awards was submitted by multiple AFI Award winning Director/Producer Peter Andrikidis, whose work includes Underbelly and East West 101, and Editor Deborah Peart, whose recent work includes Puberty Blues and The Straits. Andrikidis and Peart said:

“We are very pleased with the inclusion of the new television craft categories and congratulate AACTA for taking such positive steps. We would also like to thank all the individuals, production companies and screen Guilds who assisted us in making the original submission to AACTA in 2012. These new Awards will see Australia’s television industry rightfully recognised for their craft alongside our film industry, and alongside our international peers. We hope AACTA will continue to take steps forward in celebrating all manner of screen craft in years to come by further expansion of the Awards and we urge all screen practitioners to throw their support behind this endeavour.”

No comments yet.