The nine films nominated for the 2019 AACTA Award for Best Asian Film presented by Eureka International Group (EIG) have been revealed!

With an increasing number of high-quality, creative works receiving acclaim at international film festivals and global popularity, the 2019 AACTA Award for Best Asian Film presented by EIG recognises the exceptional calibre of films from the Asian region.

The nominees for 2019 are:

ANDHADHUN (Dir. Sriram Raghavan), a black comedy thriller from India grossing almost ten times its budget since its release;
India’s entry for Best International Feature Film at the upcoming Oscars® GULLY BOY (Dir. Zoya Akhtar);
The highest-grossing film ever produced in the Philippines, HELLO LOVE GOODBYE (Dir. Cathy Garcia-Molina);
NE ZHA (Dir. Jiao Zi), China’s highest-grossing animated film and second highest-grossing Chinese film of all time;
The first South Korean film to ever receive the prestigious Palme d’Or at Cannes Film Festival, PARASITE (Dir. Bong Joon-Ho);
Chinese film SHADOW (Dir. Zhang Yimou), winner of four major awards at the Golden Horse Film Festival in 2018;
Acclaimed Indian action and crime drama SUPER DELUXE (Dir. Thiagarajan Kumararaja, INDIA);
China’s first foray into big-budget Sci-Fi filmmaking THE WANDERING EARTH (Dir. Frant Gwo,);
Sundance and Berlin Film Festival favourite, Japan’s WE ARE LITTLE ZOMBIES (Dir. Makoto Nagahisa.

The winner of the Best Asian Film Award will be determined by the 2019 Best Asian Film Grand Jury, led by Oscar® and multiple AFI and AACTA Award-winning actor Russell Crowe and will be announced in Sydney at the 2019 AACTA Awards Ceremony presented by Foxtel on Wednesday 4 December 2019.

No comments yet.