Nominations are now open for the 2019 Grant McLennan Fellowship, jointly funded by the Queensland Government through Arts Queensland and APRA AMCOS and presented by QMusic.

Founded in 2007 in honour of the late Queensland singer-songwriter and co-frontman of The Go-Betweens, Grant McLennan, the Fellowship is an incredible chance for local songwriters to take their careers to a whole new level.

The prestigious $25,000 fellowship offers the recipient an opportunity to travel to New York, London or Berlin for up to six months and use the experience of being immersed in a foreign and vibrant musical culture to further develop their own artistic skills.

These three cities were of special significance in Grant’s life, and for the last twelve years have provided Queensland musicians with the same kinds of transformative experiences that made his music so special. 2018 recipient, Brisbane electronic artist and producer Danny Harley (The Kite String Tangle) is currently in Berlin, and using the experience to explore and learn while embracing the freedom to be inspired. “I’ve heard previous recipients describe the fellowship as life changing and, nearing the end of my first month in Berlin, I understand what they mean,” said Danny Harley.

“Already I have been able to attend conferences, shows and cultural events that are of a totally different scale and approach to those back home and it has been awesome in the true sense of the word. These are opportunities and experiences I could just not have in Australia and the fact that this Fellowship exists in order to provide this high level of inspiration is truly incredible.

“The Grant McLennan fellowship is probably the most unique opportunity available to artists in Australia.”

Minister for the Arts Leeanne Enoch said the Queensland Government established the award to honour the legacy of Grant McLennan and develop the next generation of contemporary music talent.

“The Fellowship acknowledges successful mid-career songwriters and helps to provide pathways for them to develop skills and expand their networks in an international market,” Minister Enoch said.

“We’re proud to continue to support this incredible opportunity, now in its twelfth year” said APRA AMCOS Head of Member Services. “To follow in Grant’s footsteps, experiencing a different country and culture, allows a Queensland songwriter to explore their creativity and develop valuable networks that could be career-changing.”

Applications open on 18 July for individual songwriters and songwriting duos.

You must:

Reside in Queensland and be an Australian citizen or permanent resident
Be 21 years of age or older
Be a member of APRA AMCOS
Have satisfied the reporting requirements of any previous Arts Queensland grants
Have an ABN
Only submit one application in each round (e.g. songwriting duos may not also submit individual applications).
Applications close on 23 September, with the winners to be announced in December 2019.

Head to for full eligibility requirements and guidelines.

Previous winners of the Grant McLennan Fellowship;

2018: Danny Harley (The Kite String Tangle)
2017: Jeremy Neale
2016: Hannah Macklin (MKO Sun)
2015: Timothy Steward (We All Want To, Screamfeeder)
2014: Thomas Calder (The Trouble With Templeton)
2013: Seja Vogel
2012: Louise O’Reilly and Paul Hannan (Laneway)
2011: Scott Spark
2010: Danny Widdicombe & Andrew Morris (The Wilson Pickers)
2009: Helen Franzmann (McKisko)
2008: John Busby and Chris Dale (Halfway)
2007: Greg Charles

No comments yet.