Competition is fierce, with the final nominees for the nation’s top screen entertainment celebration announced today.

On the television drama front, leading the charge is STATELESS with 18 nominations. MYSTERY ROAD’S Wayne Blair and Warwick Thornton compete with each other for the coveted AACTA Award for Best Direction in a Television Drama or Comedy, alongside Simon Francis nominated for AUSTRALIAN AMAZON ORIGINAL STAND-UP SPECIALS, and Emma Freeman and Jocelyn Moorhouse, both nominated for their work on STATELESS.

The AACTA Award for Best Screenplay in Television nominees include Kodie Bedford nominated for MYSTERY ROAD, competing alongside Julie Kalceff (FIRST DAY), Peter Duncan (OPERATION BUFFALO), Shelley Birse (THE COMMONS), and Elise McCredie (STATELESS).

Nominees for the AACTA Award for Best Production Design in Television include THE NEW LEGENDS OF MONKEY (with a nomination for Nick Williams), Cold War-era 1950s South Australia with OPERATION BUFFALO (Colin Gibson), a remote immigration detention centre with STATELESS (Melinda Doring), the unforgiving outback with MYSTERY ROAD (Herbert Pinter) and to a slightly fast-forwarded Sydney struggling with climate change in THE COMMONS (Tim Ferrier).

Today’s nomination for Best Original Score in Television sees Antony Partos (OPERATION BUFFALO) become one of Australia’s most recognised film composers of the last decade, with a total of six nominations and five wins. Partos is nominated alongside past winners Cornel Wilczek (STATELESS) and Kit Warhurst (ROSEHAVEN), along with Joff Bush (BLUEY), and siblings Diego, Nora and Lionel Baldenweg, nominated for their work on teenage action-adventure series, ITCH, backing up their 2019 nomination.

The AACTA Award for Best Sound in Television sees two nominations for Wes Chew and Luke Mynott, both nominated for MYSTERY ROAD (with Michael Newton and Trevor Hope) and OPERATION BUFFALO (with Guntis Sics). Also competing are Dean Ryan, Andrew Neil, Ralph Ortner and Lee Yee for THE GLOAMING, and Tom Heuzenroeder, Pete Smith, Michael Darren and Des Kenneally for STATELESS. They face competition from Paul Pirola, Brendan Croxon, James Harvey and Andrew Ramage nominated for their work on HALIFAX: RETRIBUTION.

Nominations across the Best Cinematography in Television category include Marden Dean nominated for THE GLOAMING, Earle Dresner receives a nomination for THE COMMONS followed by Martin McGrath who is nominated for OPERATION BUFFALO. Warwick Thornton receives a nod for MYSTERY ROAD, and Bonnie Elliott is nominated for STATELESS.

Following her Daytime Emmy Awards win last year, Liz McGregor today received a nomination for the AACTA Award for Best Costume Design in Television for THE NEW LEGENDS OF MONKEY, bringing a new generation into the re-imagined world of 1970s cult-classic, MONKEY MAGIC. Also nominated are Tim Chappel (THE MASKED SINGER), Xanthe Heubel (THE COMMONS), Mariot Kerr (STATELESS) and Wendy Cork (OPERATION BUFFALO), who was last awarded for her stunning work on LADIES IN BLACK.

Where to Watch
AACTA ScreenFest will be held online from Friday 27 November to Wednesday 2 December 2020. Events are free, but bookings are essential here.

AACTA Industry Awards presented by Foxtel will be streaming at ScreenFest on Friday 27 November at 6.30pm AEDT which has been made possible by Cutting Edge. It will also screen on Foxtel Arts, Friday November 27 at 6.30pm AEDT.

AACTA Awards presented by Foxtel Ceremony will be on Foxtel Arts, Sunday 6 December at 7.30pm AEDT.

Australia Decides: AACTA’s Best of the Decade including highlights from the AACTA Awards will be on Channel Seven, Wednesday 2 December at 8.30pm AEDT and encore on Foxtel Arts, Sunday 6 December at 9.30pm AEDT.

No comments yet.