The AACTA International Awards honour the best achievements in film excellence from the past year, regardless of geography, across seven categories – Best Film, Best Direction, Best Screenplay, Best Lead Actor, Best Lead Actress, Best Supporting Actor and Best Supporting Actress.

THREE BILLBOARDS OUTSIDE EBBING, MISSOURI led the evening, taking home three awards including: Best Film, Best Screenplay for writer-director Martin McDonagh and Best Supporting Actor for Sam Rockwell.

First-time AACTA nominee Margot Robbie received the AACTA International Award for Best Lead Actress for I, TONYA. Her portrayal of figure skater Tonya Harding has also seen the Australian actress earn her first Golden Globe and SAG Award nominations.

Also taking home an AACTA International Award for I, TONYA was Emmy Award winner Allison Janney, who received the Award for Best Supporting Actress.

The remaining performance award went to Gary Oldman, who received the Award for Best Lead Actor for his portrayal of British Prime Minister Winston Churchill in DARKEST HOUR.

The AACTA International Award for Best Direction went to Christopher Nolan for DUNKIRK. The film, which depicts the real-life Dunkirk evacuation of World War II, also sees Nolan nominated for Best Director at Sunday night’s Golden Globe Awards.

Nicole Kidman;Hugh Jackman

Gary Oldman;Gisele Schmidt

*** Jai Courtney;Mecki Dent

Mallory Jansen

* Phillip Noyce, Luvuyo Noyce

Joel Jackson

Josh Thomas

** Phillip Noyce

No comments yet.