Stateless, Babyteeth, Bluey, Masterchef Australia, Mystery Road, Cate Blanchett, Rebel Wilson, Ben Mendelsohn, Shaun Micallef, Yvonne Strahovski and Essie Davis were among the winners announced at the star-studded ceremony.

Leading the 2020 AACTA Awards season with a total of 13 Awards was Stateless, including Best Telefeature or Miniseries, Best Screenplay in Television and all four acting Awards across television drama. In film, Babyteeth received nine Awards including Best Film presented by Foxtel and Best Direction for Shannon Murphy, marking her impressive directional debut.

The full list of AACTA Awards presented are as follows:

Best Telefeature or Mini Series: Stateless
Best Reality Program: Masterchef Australia
Best Entertainment Program: Have You Been Paying Attention?
Best Lifestyle Program:The Living Room
Best Online Entertainment: The Norris Nuts
Best Online Drama or Comedy: Love In Lockdown
Best Children’s Program: Bluey
Best Comedy Entertainment Program: Shaun Micallef’s Mad As Hell
Best Drama Series: Mystery Road
Best Comedy Series: Upright
Best Factual Entertainment Program: Gogglebox Australia
Best Documentary or Factual Program: Murder in The Outback: The Falconio And Less Mystery
Subscription Television Award for Best Presenter: Rebel Wilson (LOL: Last One Laughing Australia)
Best Lead Actor in a Television Drama: Fayssal Bazzi (Stateless)
Best Lead Actress in a Television Drama: Yvonne Strahovski (Stateless)
Best Guest or Supporting Actor in a Television Drama: Darren Gilshenan (Stateless)
Best Guest or Supporting Actress in a Television Drama: Cate Blanchett (Stateless)
Best Screenplay in Television: Elise McCredie (Stateless)
Best Direction in a TV Drama or Comedy: Emma Freeman (Stateless)
Best Comedy Performer: Tim Minchin (Upright)
Best Film presented by Foxtel: Babyteeth
Best Indie Film: Standing Up For Sunny
Best Asian Film: Better Days
Best Documentary: Firestarter – The Story of Bangarra
Best Screenplay in Film: Rita Kalnejais (Babyteeth)
Best Direction in Film: Shannon Murphy (Babyteeth)
Best Lead Actor in Film: Toby Wallace (Babyteeth)
Best Lead Actress in Film: Eliza Scanlen (Babyteeth)
Best Supporting Actor in Film: Ben Mendelsohn (Babyteeth)
Best Supporting Actress in Film: Essie Davis (Babyteeth)
Best Short Film: The Mirror
Best VFX or Animation: The Eight Hundred
The Byron Kennedy Award was also presented, recognising the impact of Australian low-budget genre filmmaking and celebrating the outstanding creative enterprise within the screen industry. Jennifer Kent was announced as the recipient for her international success on the AACTA Award-winning film, The Babadook.

Steve Bedwell, Bryan Cockerill and Geraldine Coy were the proud recipients of the inaugural AACTA Reg Grundy Award, established to support new voices in screen entertainment and fast track original productions. The trio received a $50,000 prize comprised of cash and development funds to create their winning television entertainment concept, Seven Pups.

Highlights from the 2020 AACTA Awards presented by Foxtel Ceremony will be included in AACTA’s Best of the Decade: Australia Decides – a reimagined broadcast celebrating a decade of Australian screen on Channel Seven, Wednesday 2 December at 8.30pm AEDT and encore on Foxtel Arts, Sunday 6 December at 9.30pm AEDT.

No comments yet.