Watch the Live TV Final on Saturday
8 February 8.30pm AEDT on SBS and cast your vote
🎶 Songs, videos and images below 🎶

With just one week until show time, SBS and production partner Blink TV today announced the final four songs for Eurovision – Australia Decides, setting the stage for a show like no other.

Artists and fans will soon be arriving on the Gold Coast, with the Live TV Final broadcast live and exclusive on SBS on Saturday 8 February. The national final will showcase some of Australia’s biggest acts, singing original songs, for the chance to represent the country at the Eurovision Song Contest 2020 in Rotterdam, the Netherlands.

The final four songs to be revealed are Vanessa Amorosi’s power ballad Lessons of Love, Montaigne’s Don’t Break Me about the breakdown of a toxic relationship, both personal and political, Didirri’s mesmerising and reflective ballad Raw Stuff and Jaguar Jonze’s Rabbit Hole about battles with mental health.

Vanessa Amorosi said: “So happy to announce Lessons of Love is the song I’m taking to Eurovision – Australia Decides 2020! I couldn’t be more proud and excited to perform this LIVE for the first time in February. Rehearsals have begun and I’m beyond thrilled with the concept of my performance. I CAN’T WAIT for you all to see it.”

Montaigne said: “Don’t Break Me is a depiction of the enough is enough phase of a relationship breakdown, where one person feels like they are putting much more time, energy and resources into the relationship than the other person and becomes frustrated and resentful. I wrote it while reading Codependent No More by Melody Beattie, which really informed the qualities of the character and the relationship dynamic.”

Didirri said: “Raw Stuff is a personal song that I almost gave up on. It is a moment for reflection. It’s for anyone else who is trying to process what’s happening in their life. It’s a song about a time when two people are so close but unable to open up to each other. Songwriting really helps me express things that I may otherwise be without words to explain. Performing Raw Stuff cuts close to the bone for me.”

Jaguar Jonze said: “Rabbit Hole is about exploring the intricacies of our vulnerabilities, and how it unknowingly manifests into different coping mechanisms as we go through life’s inevitable obstacles. It’s about the complicated relationship I have with trauma and the way I react in the face of it. I wrote it at a time when I was really learning about my Complex PTSD, which I’ve had for 20 years. I hope it connects with Australia or whoever needs it. I want it to say that trauma doesn’t have to define you, and that we can return the strength to live the life we deserve.”

The final ten acts vying for their shot to represent Australia on the world’s biggest stage are: powerhouse entertainer Casey Donovan with Proud, rising First Nations artist Mitch Tambo with Together, glam rock star iOTA with Life, The Voice winner Diana Rouvas with Can We Make Heaven, 19-year-old singer-songwriter Jordan-Ravi with Pushing Stars, Australia’s Got Talent winner Jack Vidgen with I Am King I Am Queen, Aussie icon Vanessa Amorosi with Lessons of Love, art pop auteur Montaigne with Don’t Break Me, alternative artist Didirri with Raw Stuff and multi-media artist Jaguar Jonze with Rabbit Hole.

Hosted by SBS Eurovisionaries comedian Joel Creasey and music buff Myf Warhurst, Eurovision – Australia Decides will also showcase local and international Eurovision royalty with four special guest acts confirmed to perform: winner of the inaugural Eurovision – Australia Decides Kate Miller-Heidke will return to the stage where it all began, Swedish pop phenomenon and winner of the Eurovision Song Contest 2015 Måns Zelmerlöw, powerhouse vocalist and Eurovision 2016 runner up Dami Im and Australia’s 2019 Junior Eurovision representative Jordan Anthony.

During the Opening Night Show on Friday 7 February, a Jury of artists and industry experts will vote for their favourite performance. The Australian public are eligible to vote for their favourite performances via SMS* from Friday 7 February at 8.30pm AEDT until Saturday 8 February at approximately 10:15pm AEDT. The public vote makes up half of the overall vote. The artist and song that receives the most points overall will go on to represent Australia at the Eurovision Song Contest 2020 in May.

SBS Commissioning Editor for Entertainment and Australian Head of Delegation Josh Martin said:
“After listening to over 600 songs, we have our final ten! And what a diverse and incredibly eclectic group of songs they are. The artists and songwriters have put so much heart and soul into their music, and the coming week is all about perfecting their staging, which is so crucial for a memorable Eurovision performance. We are so thrilled with the calibre of our final ten, but now the focus will turn to who Australia thinks should be our musical emissary to Eurovision. There can only be one winner and all will be revealed live on SBS!”

Creative Director of Eurovision – Australia Decides and Director of Blink TV Paul Clarke said:
“These songs and performances are all very different, but they share one thing – a ton of emotive power. First and foremost, Eurovision is about passion, connecting with people’s hearts. The staging and performances this year will be next level, so people can feel the magic. Worth being in the room if you can get a ticket! This year, the audience can vote in the room during the Opening Night Show on Friday. Then a segment of the performances will be available to view on SBS On Demand for people who want to vote early.”

In association with the Queensland Government via Tourism and Events Queensland, the City of Gold Coast, Screen Queensland, APRA AMCOS, Moroccanoil and accommodation partner QT Gold Coast, Eurovision – Australia Decides will be presented at the Gold Coast Convention and Exhibition Centre on Friday 7 and Saturday 8 February and tickets for the Opening Night Show, Matinee Show are on sale, with limited tickets available to the Live TV Final.

Be a part of history and see it live at the Gold Coast Convention and Exhibition Centre.

OPENING NIGHT SHOW Friday 7 February, 7.30pm AEST (Not televised – tickets available)
Gold Coast Convention and Exhibition Centre
Jury Vote

MATINEE SHOW Saturday 8 February, 1.00pm AEST (Not televised – tickets available)
Gold Coast Convention and Exhibition Centre

LIVE TV FINAL Saturday 8 February, 7.30pm AEST (Live and Exclusive TV Broadcast
on SBS – Limited tickets available)
Gold Coast Convention and Exhibition Centre
Public Vote and Winner Announced

To purchase tickets:

Eurovision – Australia Decides 2020 airs live and exclusively on SBS on Saturday 8 February.
Broadcast times across Australia:
NSW/VIC/TAS/ACT 8:30pm – 11:00pm AEDT
QLD 7:30pm – 10:00pm AEST
SA 8:00pm – 10:30pm ACDT
WA 5:30pm – 8:00pm AWST
NT 7:00pm – 9:30pm ACST

For more information on how to watch:

For images and video assets:

Listen to the official Eurovision – Australia Decides – Gold Coast 2020 Playlist on Apple Music:

Vanessa Amorosi – Lessons of Love
Album link:
Lyric Video:

Montaigne – Don’t Break Me

Didirri – Raw Stuff

Jaguar Jonze – Rabbit Hole

Casey Donovan – Proud

Diana Rouvas – Can We Make Heaven

Mitch Tambo – Together
Song and lyric video:

iOTA – Life

Jordan-Ravi – Pushing Stars

Jack Vidgen – I Am King I Am Queen

Stay tuned to the SBS Eurovision website for updates:

#Eurovision #AusDecides

No comments yet.