Today we announced the full International juries for the 12th Asia Pacific Screen Awards .
In 2018, four juries will determine the winners from the 46 nominated films representing 22 countries and areas.
Heading the International Jury is prolific Ukrainian producer Alexander Rodnyansky. Nominated twice for an Academy Award®, Rodnyansky is a frequent collaborator with acclaimed auteur Andrey Zvyagintsev and his films Loveless, Leviathan and Elena have collectively received a remarkable seven Asia Pacific Screen Awards. Rodnyansky has also produced feature films with directors Tom Tykwer, Lana and Lily Wachowski, Robert Rodriguez and Billy Bob Thornton.

Joining Rodnyansky in Brisbane to determine the winners across the six feature narrative awards are: award-winning Indonesian director and producer Nia Dinata (Arisan!, Love for Share, Three Sassy Sisters), internationally-acclaimed Nepalese filmmaker Deepak Rauniyar (Highway, White Sun), prominent Georgian producer Vladimer Katcharava (Dede, Girls of the Sun) and Chilean actress Antonia Zegers (Los Perros, A Fantastic Woman). Zegers’ appointment recognises the newly established APSA Awards Alliance with Ibero-America’s Platino Awards.
In a first, 2018 will see the appointment of a new Cultural Diversity International Jury. The new jury highlights the importance the Awards place on honouring the region’s cultural diversity, an aim on we have shared with Paris-based UNESCO through a 12-year collaboration.

The new jury will determine the winner of the Cultural Diversity Award under the patronage of UNESCO. Two ground-breaking filmmakers feature on the new jury: prolific and acclaimed documentarian and author, and the first female filmmaker from Yemen, Khadija Al-Salami (Jury Chair), and Laos’ first female feature filmmaker Mattie Do (Laos). Completing the inaugural three-person jury is Anthony Krause, Chief of the Policy and Research Unit in the Section for the Diversity of Cultural Expressions. Krause is the first ever juror to represent founding partner UNESCO.

The Youth, Animation, Documentary International Jury will determine the winners across the three categories. Chair of the jury will be Australian documentary filmmaker and a founder and CEO of the Documentary Australia Foundation Mitzi Goldman (A Common Purpose), who will be joined on the jury by Bangladesh’s multi-award-winning feminist filmmaker Rubaiyat Hossain (Meherjaan) and Luke Hetherington, Executive in Charge a LucasFilm’s VFX and Animation studio, Industry Lights & Magic, based in Singapore.

The previously announced Music in Film International Jury is comprised of internationally renowned composer, musician and APSA Academy member Ryuichi Sakamoto (Japan, Jury Chair), Indian composer and Music Director Sneha Khanwalkar (Manto, Gangs of Wasseypur) and Australian composer, conductor and musician Nigel Westlake (Babe, Paper Planes, Miss Potter).
The jurors, who hail from 12 different countries, will be inducted into the prestigious APSA Academy.

The 12th Asia Pacific Screen Awards will be held in Brisbane, Australia on 29 November. Tickets on sale now.​

No comments yet.