The Cannes Film Festival will unveil its Official Selection lineup for the 74th edition on Thursday, June 3 at 11 a.m. Paris time (2 a.m. PT/5 a.m. ET). The press conference will stream live from the UGC Normandie cinema on the Champs-Elysées.

Leos Carax’s Annette is opening the south of France, while Wes Anderson’s The French Dispatch and Paul Verhoeven’s Benedetta are confirmed. The rest of the big reveal comes one year to the day after Cannes president Pierre Lescure and general delegate Thierry Frémaux unveiled the 2020 Official Selection, which was made up of films that would have run on the Riviera had Covid not forced the fest to scrap the event — save for a special edition that took place in October 2020 across three days and ended just as another lockdown was announced in France.

It has indeed been a long road to Cannes 2021, which itself was originally planned for last month, but delayed to July 6-17 this summer. Spike Lee is president of the jury, reupping from last year’s kiboshed event.

No comments yet.

HAVE SOMETHING TO SAY?