Amy Shark, 2019 Queensland Music Awards Performing Artist.

The deadline for entries for the 2020 Queensland Music Awards (QMAs) and the Billy Thorpe Scholarship has been extended until midnight Thursday 31 October 2019 for Queensland songwriters and filmmakers to enter their songs and videos.

Produced by QMusic, the 2020 Awards have enjoyed a flood of published and unpublished entries across 15 self-nominating categories. And with the recent announcement of the $24,000 Song Of The Year promotional prize, courtesy of The Music and Hit Network, as well as the new QMusic Emerging Artist Of The Year Award sponsored by Noisegate, the QMAs present an unrivalled opportunity for musicians from across the state to catapult their careers onto a national stage.

Adding to the appeal, over 90 music industry executives have been enlisted to uncover Queensland’s best new music including programmers and tastemakers from across Australia. Songwriters will have their music heard by representatives from Sub Pop, Spotify, Dew Process, Dark Mofo, WME, Village Sounds and Primary Wave to name a few.

Filmmakers entering the Music Video category will have their entries viewed by key creative directors and content programmers. Judges include the Head Creative Director of Entertainment, Movies and Music at Foxtel, Producer and Programmer of ABC Rage and Creative Director and Video Artist Rachael Johnson (Vera Blue, Angus and Julia Stone, Cat Power).

Emerging musicians and duos are also encouraged to apply for the 2020 Billy Thorpe Scholarship. Funded by the Queensland Government, the Scholarship has a long history of supporting Queensland’s most promising songwriters including Sam Hales (The Jungle Giants), Greta Stanley, Jeremy Neale, and most recently, Jaimee Fryer (Pool Shop) from Brisbane. Now in its 12th year, the Scholarship provides $10,000 to record with an established producer, and receive career-planning advice from Chugg Entertainment. Applications are free, and the deadline has also been extended until midnight Thursday 31 October 2019.

The eighth annual QMAs will take place at The Fortitude Music Hall on Tuesday 3 March 2020. Tickets will be available purchase early next year with an early bird offer to all QMusic members. Entries for both the Queensland Music Awards and the Billy Thorpe Scholarship close midnight Thursday 31 October 2019, via the QMAs website.

For more details, entry information and a list of previous winners, visit

No comments yet.