Watch the awards Exclusively Live on Foxtel Arts on Monday July 24

Foxtel Arts is proud to honour excellence in Australia’s vibrant live performance industry in its LIVE broadcast of the prestigious and glamorous 2017 Helpmann Awards, direct from the set of Kinky Boots at the Capitol Theatre on Monday July 24 at 7.30pm.

The Helpmann Awards, now in its 17th year, will be hosted by some of Australia’s most dynamic performers including Queenie van de Zandt, Brooke Satchwell, Trevor Ashley, Garry Stewart, David McAllister AM, Stephen Page AM, Richard Mills AM, Emma Mathews, Lyndon Terracini AM, Charles Edwards, Jimmy Barnes AO and Foxtel stars Tim Draxl (A Place To Call Home), Deborah Hutton (Foxtel Arts host) and Kate Mulvany (Fighting Season).

The Helpmann Awards are the premier celebration of Australia’s vibrant live performance industry and recognise distinguished achievement and excellence in Australia’s live performance sectors including musical theatre, contemporary music, comedy, opera, classical music, theatre, ballet, dance and physical theatre, presentation for children, regional touring and cabaret.

The awards will also feature spectacular live performances and an array of Australia’s biggest stars with performances by the casts of musicals ‘My Fair Lady’ with Reg Livermore, ‘Kinky Boots’, ‘Disney’s Aladdin’, ‘The Book of Mormon’ and ‘Beautiful: The Carole King Musical’ featuring Dami Im and the star of the show Esther Hannaford.

The Living End’s Chris Cheney and Grinspoons’ Phil Jamieson are joined by the cast of Green Day’s ‘American Idiot’ to perform “21 Guns”.

Australian Dance Theatre performs a tribute to choreographer Tanja Liedtke with her International success ‘Construct’.

The Sydney Children’s Choir present a piece by Sally Whitwell ‘Lux Aeterna’ for the In Memoriam and the cabaret circus hit ‘Velvet’ starring Foxtel Smooth host Marcia Hines closes the night.

A total of 42 categories will be presented at the 2017 Helpmann Awards. Richard Tognetti AO, Artistic Director of the Australian Chamber Orchestra, will be the recipient of the 2017 JC Williamson Award. This award is bestowed on an individual who has made a truly outstanding contribution to the enrichment of Australia’s live performance culture and shaped the future of the industry for the better. Additionally, Rob Brookman AM will be the recipient of this year’s Sue Nattrass Award which honours an exceptional individual in a service role that supports the industry.

Aladdin, Kinky Boots, My Fair Lady and The Book of Mormon have all been nominated in the ‘Best Musical’ category.

Nominees for ‘Best Male Actor in a Musical’ are Ainsley Melham (Aladdin), AJ Holmes (The Book of Mormon), Callum Francis (Kinky Boots) and Charles Edwards (My Fair Lady).

Amy Lehpamer (DUSTY), Anna O’Byrne (My Fair Lady), Sophie Wright (Kinky Boots) and Zahra Newman (The Book of Mormon) have all been nominated for ‘Best Female Actor in a Musical’.

Jasper Jones, Once In Royal David’s City, The Drover’s Wife and Things I Know To Be True have all been nominated for ‘Best Play’.

Nominees for ‘Best Female Actor in a Play’ include Alison Whyte (Faith Healer), Helen Morse (John), Kate Mulvany (Richard 3) and Leah Purcell (The Drover’s Wife).

Nominees for ‘Best Male Actor in a Play’ include Colin Friels (Faith Healer), Jason Chong (Chimerica), Jason Klarwein (Once In Royal David’s City) and Mark Cole Smith (The Drover’s Wife).

The complete list of 2017 nominations, further information and other news about the Helpmann Awards is available at

Tickets for the 17th Annual Helpmann Awards are available now from Ticketmaster.

Exclusively LIVE on Foxtel Arts on Monday July 24 at 7.30pm AEST
The Awards Ceremony will also be simulcast on

With a special encore screening on Tuesday July 25 at 12pm and 9.30pm and throughout the week

Following its live broadcast on Foxtel Arts, the 2017 Helpmann Awards will be available to watch from Foxtel’s on demand library, or streamed on demand.

Charlie in Kinky Boots – Toby Francis – Photo Credit Matthew Murphy

No comments yet.