Natasha Henstridge, Amanda Crew, Emily Hampshire, Meaghan Rath, Enuka Okuma, Keltie Knight, Brad Schwartz

Golden Maple Awards ’16

Host, presenters and Maple of Excellence honoree

The Academy of Canadians in Sports & Entertainment – Los Angeles (ACISE-LA) announced today the master of ceremony, the award presenters and an additional Maple of Excellence honoree for the 2016 Golden Maple Awards.

The 2016 Golden Maple Awards will be held on July 1, 2016 in Los Angeles, on Canada’s Day.
Among Missy Peregrym and Nick Bateman, 2016 Golden Maple Awards honorees, is Pop President Brad Schwartz, who will receive the 2016 Maple of Excellence for Outstanding TV Executive. Pop is a cable television network seen in over 80 million homes and owned by CBS Corporation (NYSE: CBS) and Lionsgate (NYSE: LGF).

Mr. Schwartz led the high profile, award-winning rebrand of TV Guide Network to Pop, which debuted in January 2015. Under Mr. Schwartz’s leadership, Pop has launched critically acclaimed original programming, delivered nine quarters of year-over-year ratings growth, increased its distribution with launches on AT&T U-Verse and Cablevision, attracted over 125 new advertisers, and in 2015 delivered its best primetime in six years.

Throughout his career, Mr. Schwartz has rebranded and/or launched six cable networks and has served as a top executive for Fuse, CTV (Canada) and MTV. At Fuse, he led an award-winning (PROMAX/BDA Gold) rebrand campaign, delivered Fuse’s highest quarterly, weekly and daily ratings in the network’s history, as well as critically acclaimed programming including the Emmy Award nominated “Billy on The Street,” Image Award winning “The Hustle,” and GLAAD Winning “Big Freedia: Queen of Bounce.” Prior to Fuse, Schwartz served as General Manager of a suite of eight music and pop culture cable networks in Canada, including MTV Canada, MuchMusic, MTV2 and MuchMore, launching Gemini-winning “MTV Live,” North American-wide hit “The Hills Aftershow” and winning the PROMAX/BDA “Judges Choice” award for best-in-show marketing & creative. He merged MTV and MuchMusic into one business that reached more than 48% of all young Canadians every week, driving double digit increases in ratings and revenue, while leading MuchMusic to its highest rated year ever, which included the highest rated non-sports cable program on television “The MuchMusic Video Awards” and Peabody & Emmy-winning “Degrassi.”

From Toronto, Canada and a graduate of The University of Pennsylvania, Mr. Schwartz began his career working for Lorne Michaels at “Saturday Night Live.” He has been listed among Broadcasting and Cable’s Next Wave Of Leaders, The Hollywood Reporter’s Next Generation, CableFax’s Top 100 Power Players In Cable, and named one of Canada’s Top 40 Under 40 leaders. He is a member of PROMAX/BDA’s Board of Directors.

The 2016 Golden Maple Awards will be hosted by Canadian actress Natasha Henstridge, known for her role in GHOSTS OF MARS, SPECIES, THE WHOLE NINE YARDS and ELI STONE, and starred more recently in Sony’s HOME INVASION.

Canadian talent Amanda Crew, Emily Hampshire, Meaghan Rath, Enuka Okuma and Keltie Knight will be awards presenters at the 2016 Golden Maple Awards on July 1, 2016.

Crew stars in HBO’s Silicon Valley, and won the 2015 Golden Maple Awards for Best Actress in a TV series broadcasted in the US.

Hampshire stars in Syfy’s 12 Monkeys and Pop TV’s Schitt’s Creek, and won with Meaghan Rath the 2015 Golden Maple Awards for Newcomer of the Year.

Rath stars in Fox’ Cooper Barrett’s Guide To Surviving Life.

Okuma stars in Chiller TV’s Slasher and Keltie Knight is a host on CBS The Insider.

Previously announced on May 16, 2016, the Golden Maple Award nominees are:

Best actress in a TV series broadcast in the U.S.:
Amanda Crew – Silicon Valley, HBO
Britne Oldford – Hunters, Syfy
Emily Hampshire – 12 Monkeys, Syfy
Emily Hampshire – Schitt’s Creek, PopTV
Erin Karpluk – The Riftworld Chronicles, Geek & Sundry
Laura Vandervoort – Bitten, Syfy
Lindy Booth – The Librarians, TNT
Natalie Brown – The Strain, FX

Best actor in a TV series broadcast in the U.S.:
Ben Hollingsworth – Code Black, CBS
Brandon Jay McLaren – Graceland, USA
Byron Mann – Hell On Wheels, AMC
Christopher Heyerdahl – Hell On Wheels, AMC
David Sutcliffe – Proof, TNT
Giacomo Gianniotti – Grey’s Anatomy, ABC
Jonathan Keltz – Reign, The CW
Ricky Mabe – Gigi Does It, IFC

Newcomer of the year in a TV series broadcast in the U.S.:
Amanda Crew – Silicon Valley, HBO
Ennis Esmer – Red Oaks, Amazon Studios
Christopher Heyerdahl – Hell on Wheels, AMC
Giacomo Gianniotti – Grey’s Anatomy, ABC
Gregory Smith – Rookie Blue, ABC

No comments yet.