The original and still the best classical cross over group Il Divo will release their eagerly anticipated new album AMOR & PASION on November 13th through Syco Music/Sony Music Entertainment Australia. The album is now available to pre-order at JB HiFi and Sanity.

Working with Columbian producer and multiple Latin Grammy winner Julio Reyes Copello, Il Divo have recorded a body of work spanning a century of traditional tangos, smoldering boleros and classic mambas.

AMOR & PASION hails from Spain and Cuba, from Central and South America. The tracks that make up the album are mostly familiar hits – such as Julio Iglesias’ iconic ‘A Las Mujeres Que Yo Ame (To All the Girls I’ve Loved Before)’ and Gloria Estefan’s resonant ‘Si Voy A Perderte (Don’t Wanna Lose You)’, along with ‘Himno De La Alegria’, an exciting Latin treatment of Beethoven’s ‘Ode To Joy’ and one of the most classic tangos of all time, ‘Por Una Cabeza’ which was written in 1935 and was used in both Schindlers List and the Al Pacino film Scent Of A Woman.

This is Il Divo’s seventh studio album – and their most ambitious yet. The flavors and sultry rhythms of Spain and Cuba, Argentina and Mexico give a nod to the quartet’s beginnings, whilst marking an exciting new chapter in their career. AMOR & PASION – an album full of love and romance.

For me it’s amazing. After 11 years, we always find something again that gets us genuinely excited,” Says Urs. “I am so inspired by this album. A lot of the music was completely unknown to me before. And it’s beautiful music. It’s very happy, very uplifting, very passionate – it is music full of love.”

Brought together by Simon Cowell in 2003, Urs Buhler, Sebastien Izambard, Carlos Marin and David Miller spearheaded an entirely new musical genre with their groundbreaking debut album in 2004. The multi-national four piece have gone on to achieve unparalleled success around the world with 30 million album sales, 50 #1 Records, 160 gold and platinum awards in over 33 countries, and four sold out world tours.

Il Divo have released six albums to date. After their platinum eponymous debut, subsequent albums – ANCORA (2005), SIEMPRE (2006), THE PROMISE (2008) and WICKED GAME (2011) built on the group’s winning combination of virtuoso and mass appeal. Their 2013 recording, A MUSICAL AFFAIR, was their celebration of Broadway and West End classics.

Il Divo cover

1. Por Una Cabeza
2. Abrázame
3. Don’t Wanna Lose You (Si Voy A Perderte)
4. Quizás, Quizás, Quizás (Perhaps, Perhaps, Perhaps)
5. Bésame Mucho
6. Quién Será (Sway)
7. Volver
8. Historia De Un Amor
9. Eres Tu
10. Contigo En La Distancia
11. To All The Girls I’ve Loved Before (A Las Mujeres Que Amé)
12. Himno de la Alegría (Ode To Joy)


No comments yet.