Kylie Bracknell To Host 15th Asia Pacific Screen Awards Gala event welcomes guests from 18 countries & areas

Australian screen star and multi-disciplinary award-winning artist Kylie Bracknell is confirmed to host the 15th Asia Pacific Screen Awards Gala Ceremony, Friday 11 November at the iconic Home of The Arts (HOTA) on the Gold Coast.

From Noongar Boodjar (Country) in the south of Western Australia, Kylie has a great passion to share the language and culture of her people through her work, and recently created the groundbreaking Noongar re-dubbing of Bruce Lee’s Fist of Fury. She is an accomplished actor (Redfern Now, Little J & Big Cuz, the anticipated upcoming TV series Irreverent), theatre-maker, writer, producer, and director.

Nominees, guests and delegates from 18 countries and areas will attend the 15th APSA Ceremony and Asia Pacific Screen Forum, honouring cinematic excellence and the preservation of cultural diversity through screen stories, from a region that encompasses 78 countries and areas and produces half the world’s film.

Gold Coast Mayor Tom Tate said “The bright lights of the APSA will again shine on our city as nominees return for the 15th annual ceremony. It is an honour to welcome nominees and APSA officials as we celebrate the region’s vibrant and diverse cultures. It’s showtime.’’

Confirmed guests include:

APSA Academy President and Australian screen legend Jack Thompson AM PhD.
Asia Pacific Screen Academy Chair, producer Tracey Vieira

Happy Salma – star of Best Film nominee, Before, Now & Then, and nominated for Best Performance. A renowned performer and jewellery enterpreneur, she is passionate about sharing Indonesian culture. Tatler Malaysia called her one of the most influential figures in Asia in 2020.
John Lloyd Cruz – A superstar of Filippino TV and film and a ‘Box Office King’, John Lloyd Cruz is nominated for Best Performance.
City of Gold Coast Deputy Mayor Cr Donna Gates
Tearepa Kahi (NZ) – winner of the APSA Cultural Diversity Award under the Patronage of UNESCO for his film Muru, also currently competing in Touch Rugby at the Pan Pacific Masters Games
Tame Iti (NZ) – appearing as himself in Muru, Tame is an artist, activist and leader.
HÀ LỆ Diễm (Vietnam) – director of Children of the Mist, nominated for Best Documentary Film.
Australian Producer Liz Kearney, nominated for Best Youth Film (Sweet As).
Shin Su-won (Republic of Korea) APSA nominated director for Hommage, chair of APSA Youth, Animation, Documentary International Jury.
APSA International Jury member Vimukthi Jayasundara (Sri Lanka).
MPA APSA Academy Film Fund juror and producer, Mai Meksawan (Thailand)
Best Animated Film nominees for Aurora’s Sunrise, Lithuanian producers Justė Michailinaite and Kęstutis Drazdauskas.
Jordanian director Darin J Sallam, nominated for Best Youth Film (Farha).
Australian filmmaker and Journalist Karl Malakunas, whose debut feature Delikado is nominated for Best Documentary Film.
Indian director Anmol Sidhu and producers Dhruv Bakshi and Pardeep Taina, nominated for Best Youth Film (Jaggi).
Dalmira Tilepbergenova (Kyrgyzstan), Best Screenplay nominee for This Is What I Remember.
FIFO Festival Tahiti’s Taema Mahinui
Motion Picture Association (MPA) Asia Pacific President and Managing Director Belinda Lui with a multi-country delegation
Australian filmmakers Todd Fellman, Chris Amos, Katrina Iriwati Graham and more!

No comments yet.