Following La Boite Theatre Company’s recent Annual General Meeting, Julian Myers (Partner, PwC Brisbane) has been elected Chair of the Board of La Boite Theatre Company.

“I am honoured to be elected Chair of La Boite during this very exciting 90th Birthday year. La Boite’s audience enjoys the most innovative, lively and intelligent theatre produced anywhere in Australia. I look forward to continuing working with the committed board and staff on strengthening La Boite’s place as a key part of Australia’s arts ecology.” Mr Myers said

Mr Myers has served on the La Boite Board as Treasurer since 2012. Mr Myers is a Partner in the Tax & Legal practice of PwC and is the leader of the PwC’s Brisbane Tax team. Mr Myers takes over from outgoing Chair Professor Paul Makeham.

“It has been an extraordinary privilege to serve this company for the past eight years, including four as Chair.” Professor Makeham said.

“I am in awe of its history; its people; and its unique place in Australian culture. From a financial perspective, it’s widely acknowledged that La Boite should be accorded higher status in the national funding landscape. I have no doubt that Julian’s strong leadership will see the company capitalise on recent financial successes.”

La Boite’s Artistic Director Todd MacDonald said “Julian’s networks, skills and experience are invaluable to the company and I look forward to working with him in the coming years.”

La Boite’s members also appointed two new Board members: Kevin O’Brien, a QLD based Architect, Professor of Design at QUT, and Councillor of the Australian Institute of Architects. Graham Bethune, Director of Marketing and Communications at The University of Queensland and previously Communications and Marketing Manager at The Ministry of Health New Zealand will also join the board.

La Boite Board Members
Julian Myers (Chair), Richard Hundt (Treasurer), Vivienne Anthon, Graham Bethune, Gina Fairfax, Kevin O’Brien, Lynn Rainbow Reid & John Scherer.

No comments yet.