Brilliantly fierce and fiercely brilliant” – The Evening Standard

Striking and heartfelt with shades of Nina Simone-style jazz but also hints of avant-garde modern classical. The songs were terrific”- The Times

Since catapulting into the limelight with her universally adored debut album SING TO THE MOON, Laura Mvula today releases her new album, THE DREAMING ROOM through RCA Victor and Sony Music Entertainment Australia. Laura will also be heading back to Worthy Farm next weekend following her Glastonbury debut back in 2013, as she returns to play the Pyramid Stage on Sunday 26th June.

THE DREAMING ROOM is an expansion on what was already a captivating sound. The heavenly layers of voices, the unexpected complex diversions and the celestial grandeur are still all there but with the addition of buzzy analogue synths and electric guitar lines. This is Laura in a new found light – still reflecting her distinctive signature sound but showing the progression of an artist who has come in to her own.
From the Afro-disco first single ‘Overcome’, packed with upbeat sounds and intricate harmonies layered beneath stunning tribal beats, to the captivating ‘Kiss My Feet’- a mass of disjointed beats and bereft lyrics to the epic and bold ‘People’, inspired by the crisis of black identity in the west, the music that makes up THE DREAMING ROOM is lively, ferocious and sounds exactly what it is – thrilling and unique but was also hard-won.

Amidst the struggle, Laura believes that she has written “A beast of an album” in THE DREAMING ROOM. “I never thought I’d be able to. This is the hardest I’ve worked on anything. I’ve grown up – by taking the music more seriously, I take myself less so. When I listen to this music I feel whole. I feel so at home in myself. I feel comfortable”.

Taking the writing of this album out of the studio and in to the garden shed of her producer and musical director Troy Miller, Laura also recruited The London Sympathy Orchestra, Wretch 32 (‘People’) and two huge guitar giants, Nile Rodgers and Miles Davis collaborator John Scofield (‘Overcome’) to help create this extraordinary and accomplished album.

The cornerstone of the record and the track that set the tone of THE DREAMING ROOM is a hymn-like ballad that swells to mighty proportions called ‘Show Me Love’. The heartfelt track speaks of missing a lover’s touch whilst next single from the album, a spikier track called ‘Phenomenal Woman’ – a the remarkable 1970’s style gospel funk number, inspired by a poem of the same name by the remarkable Maya Angelou, is about learning to get along without it.

As one of the most exciting musical talents to come out of the UK, Laura has previously been nominated for the Mercury Prize, BBC Sound poll, the BRITs Critics Choice Award, two BRIT Awards in 2014(British Female Solo Artist and British Breakthrough Act) and winning an incredible two MOBO’s in 2013 (Best Female and Best R&B/Soul). Having caught the attention of her musical heroes Jill Scott, Erykah Badu and Prince whilst performing at the Pyramid Stage at Glastonbury, Laura has gone on to travel the world, selling out shows (most recently The Islington Assembly Hall in March) and captivating crowds. Laura will be also be kicking off her regional UK tour in Leeds on the 14th May 2016.

Laura has taken personal misery and turned it in to musical magic. The result may come as a surprise to many, but the final product is a true testament to her musical talents. Now critically acclaimed, Laura has broken the boundaries of music once again.

Screenshot 2016-06-17 17.28.47

The Dreaming Room – Tracklisting:
1. WhoIAm
2. Overcome ft. Nile rogers
3. Bread
4. Lucky Man
5. Let Me Fall
6. Kiss My Feet
7. Show Me Love
8. Renaissance Moon
9. Angel
10. People ft. Wretch 32
11. Nan
12. Phenomenal Woman

TWITTER: @lauramvula

No comments yet.