The Academy of Canadians in Sports & Entertainment – Los Angeles (ACISE-LA) has announced today the Maple of Excellence honorees for this year’s 2016 Golden Maple Awards.

Amongst the honorees is actress Missy Peregrym, who will receive the 2016 Maple of Excellence for Outstanding Acting Achievement award for her diverse 14-year career in acting. She has been nominated for several awards including the 2016 Canadian Screen Award for her starring role in Rookie Blue which spanned six seasons on ABC. Peregym also starred in popular TV shows like Heroes, Reaper, The Chris Isaak Show, and Dark Angel…

Actor, martial artist, former model, and Online Celebrity Nick Bateman will receive the 2016 Maple of Excellence for Outstanding Social Media Achievement Award for his expansive work in film, endorsements, and celebrity status on social media. He has modelled for Abercrombie & Fitch, DSquared, Fila, Jockey, and Calvin Klein. Nick is also known his his lead in the popular cult film, HOBO WITH A SHOTGUN. Nick has two new films in the can: THEN THERE WAS LIGHT and AIRPLANE MODE.
Bateman recently reached 5 million followers on Instagram and 4 million “like” on Facebook.

The Maple of Excellence honorees were chosen by the ACISE-LA committee for their outstanding accomplishments in representing Canada in the United States. The honorees will be in attendance at the Golden Maple Awards on July 1, 2016 at the SLS Hotel in Beverly Hills to receive their respective awards.

Previously announced on May 16, 2016, the Golden Maple Award nominees are:

Best actress in a TV series broadcast in the U.S.:
Amanda Crew – Silicon Valley, HBO
Britne Oldford – Hunters, Syfy
Emily Hampshire – 12 Monkeys, Syfy
Emily Hampshire – Schitt’s Creek, PopTV
Erin Karpluk – The Riftworld Chronicles, Geek & Sundry
Laura Vandervoort – Bitten, Syfy
Lindy Booth – The Librarians, TNT
Natalie Brown – The Strain, FX

Best actor in a TV series broadcast in the U.S.:
Ben Hollingsworth – Code Black, CBS
Brandon Jay McLaren – Graceland, USA
Byron Mann – Hell On Wheels, AMC
Christopher Heyerdahl – Hell On Wheels, AMC
David Sutcliffe – Proof, TNT
Giacomo Gianniotti – Grey’s Anatomy, ABC
Jonathan Keltz – Reign, The CW
Ricky Mabe – Gigi Does It, IFC

Newcomer of the year in a TV series broadcast in the U.S.:
Amanda Crew – Silicon Valley, HBO
Ennis Esmer – Red Oaks, Amazon Studios
Christopher Heyerdahl – Hell on Wheels, AMC
Giacomo Gianniotti – Grey’s Anatomy, ABC
Gregory Smith – Rookie Blue, ABC

No comments yet.