Sony Music Entertainment Australia is excited to announce that three-time Grammy Award nominee, songwriter, actor and model, Natalie Imbruglia has released her new studio album entitled MALE today, Friday September 11th 2015.

Imbruglia finds inspiration for her new album from her favorite male artists. MALE , her first album since 2009, is a collection of classic and contemporary songs all performed by men including those of Cat Stevens, Damien Rice, Tom Petty, Pete Townsend and Zac Brown Band amongst others. It is produced by Billy Mann, who has also worked with artists like Pink, John Legend, Celine Dion, Martina McBride, and Sting.

Instant Crush’, the first single from the album, was originally recorded by the electro-pop Grammy Award winners Daft Punk. The song was written by the duo’s Thomas Bangalter and Guy-Manuel de Homem- Christo, along with The Strokes’ Julian Casablancas who also sang on the original track.

Of the Mad Men-esque video Natalie says, “Joe Stephenson, the director is an immense talent. I fell in love with his treatment. The dark Stepford wives vibe, and his reference of Gregory Crewdson’s photography. Such beautiful colours and mood. It’s so cinematic and gives the song a whole new dimension.

Of her unique take on the song, Imbruglia says, “On the original version, you can’t really hear what the song is about because of the effect that Julian’s voice has, which I love, by the way. However, it is such a beautiful story that I want people to hear it and connect with the words. I’m really proud of the way it turned out.”

Natalie Imbruglia has just been confirmed as the tour support for Simply Red’s 2015 national Australian tour. Tickets on sale from midday this coming Monday September 14th.

For further information please visit

Natalie Imbruglia 'Male' Album Artwork

MALE Track Listing:
1. Instant Crush (original artist Daft Punk)
2. Cannonball (original artist Damien Rice)
3. The Summer (original artist Josh Pyke)
4. I Will Follow You Into The Dark (original artist Death Cab For Cutie)
5. Goodbye In His Eyes (original artist Zac Brown Band)
6. Friday I’m In Love (original artist The Cure)
7. Naked As We Came (original artist Iron & Wine)
8. Let My Love Open The Door (original artist Pete Townsend)
9. Only Love Can Break Your Heart (original artist Neil Young)
10. I Melt With You (original artist Modern English)
11. The Waiting (original artist Tom Petty)
12. The Wind (original artist Cat Stevens)



No comments yet.