New appointments to Queensland Performing Arts Trust Board

New appointments to Queensland Performing Arts Trust Board

Premier and Minister for the Arts Annastacia Palaszczuk has today announced new appointments to the Queensland Performing Arts Trust (QPAT) Board, including a new Chair and four new members.

Current Board member Professor Peter Coaldrake AO has been appointed as QPAT’s new Chair and four new members have been welcomed to the seven-member Board which governs the Queensland Performing Arts Centre (QPAC).

“I am pleased to announce Professor Peter Coaldrake will become Chair of the QPAT Board and current Board members Professor Chris Sarra and Leanne de Souza will continue in their roles,” Ms Palaszczuk said.

“They will be joined by four new Trust members – Dare Power, Charles Berry, Susan Rix AM and Leigh Tabrett PSM who, collectively, have extensive skills and experience in a range of corporate and arts sector roles.

“My thanks go to retiring Board members, specifically Chair Chris Freeman who has been instrumental in supporting QPAC to realise significant growth in recent years, including achieving high capacity audiences of 1.3 million visits to 1192 performances in 2016-17.

“I am delighted Chris is continuing his contribution to Queensland culture by accepting my invitation to Chair a new body that will focus on maximising the public value of the Old Museum at Bowen Hills.

“I also thank Deputy Chair Simon Gallaher and members Sophie Mitchell and Kylie Blucher for their outstanding work at QPAT.

“I am pleased to note that retiring QPAT Deputy Chair Simon Gallaher will continue his valuable contribution to the Queensland performing arts through his appointment to the Board of Queensland Theatre Company (branded as Queensland Theatre).”

The Premier said Professor Coaldrake’s service with the Trust has been outstanding during his time as a Board Member, and his appointment as Chair has come at an exciting time for QPAC.

“The Trust’s work is invaluable in ensuring QPAC continues to be a Queensland cultural icon, providing amazing performing arts experiences for Queenslanders and the many cultural tourists who visit from interstate and overseas to see wonderful productions.

“QPAC hosts performances ranging from smaller, more intimate stage productions through to global sensations such as those brought to Queensland by the QPAC International Series, which is supported by my Government, and this year included Australian-exclusive performances by The Royal Ballet,” Ms Palaszczuk said.

“QPAC also has a key role in delivering partnerships that assist local artists and companies with performance spaces and tour special performances to regional Queensland, such as The Royal Ballet’s visit to Cairns in July, to make it easier for all Queenslanders to access the performing arts.

“My Government this year funded the $2.3 million refurbishment of the Cremorne Theatre, completed in August, and the upgrade has provided QPAC with an enviable range of venues under the one roof.

“I look forward to QPAC continuing to delight audiences, enrich our performing arts experiences and contribute to Queensland cultural tourism through its offer of amazing local, national and international productions, world-class facilities, and support of local artists and companies and regional tours.”

Following the new appointments, the QPAT Board is:

Chair Professor Peter Coaldrake AO – Outgoing Vice-Chancellor of Queensland University of Technology (QUT) and a prominent international and national university leader with roles in national and state policy development on higher education and research. He has served as Chair of Universities Australia, the Australian Technology Network and the governing board of the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) Higher Education Program (IMHE).

Professor Chris Sarra – Founder and Chairman of the Stronger Smarter Institute Ltd and Professor of Education at the University of Canberra. In 2016, Chris was NAIDOC Person of the Year, recognising his ongoing efforts to positively change educational expectations of Indigenous children throughout Australia.

Leanne de Souza – a veteran of the Australian music industry with experience in artist management and events. Leanne has represented high-profile, award-winning contemporary musicians. She was a foundation board member of the Queensland Music Network (Q Music) and is Executive Director of the Association of Artist Managers (AAM).

Charles Berry – a Fund Accounting Manager at Queensland Government Owned Corporation QIC and retired classical dancer. Charles is now a Chartered Accountant, Certified Internal Auditor and Graduate Company Director. He was formerly a member of one of the world’s most prestigious ballet companies, Stuttgart Ballet, and studied in dance at national ballet schools in Canada and England.

Dare Power – Group Administration Manager of BMD, a national engineering design, construction and land development group. Dare is also General Manager of PowerArts, an arts investment and production entity that works with major theatrical producers and performing arts companies. He is also a Director of Queensland’s premier contemporary dance company, Expressions Dance Company.

Susan Rix AM – a corporate advisor with professional services group BDO. Susan is an accomplished business leader who is an experienced company director. Her current Board roles include the Mater Misericordiae Ltd and AEIOU Foundation. Susan is also a Queensland University of Technology Council Member and Business School Adjunct Professor.

Leigh Tabrett PSM – a Board director and business consultant to clients in sectors including the arts. Leigh is a former Deputy Director-General of Arts Queensland. She is Chair of Bleached Arts Ltd, which presents Bleach* festival, the Gold Coast’s signature arts and cultural festival, and a director of organisations including dvconnect and performing arts group Currency House.

No comments yet.