Queensland Literary Awards announced

Queensland Literary Awards announced

Real life events explored through both non-fiction and fiction have been revealed as winners at tonight’s 2018 Queensland Literary Awards ceremony at State Library of Queensland.

Jackie Ryan’s We’ll Show the World: Expo 88 received the $25,000 prize for the Queensland Premier’s Award for a work of State Significance, with the judges praising the Brisbane writer’s meticulous and amusing account of the major event that forever shifted perceptions of the sunshine state.

The Queensland Premier’s Young Publishers and Writers Awards ($12,500 packages) were presented to Brisbane-based poet Anna Jacobson and author Bri Lee. Bri’s debut work Eggshell Skull, was noted as an important book by the judges, not only for the strength of the writing, but the conversations it has since sparked about sexism within the justice system.

Taboo, by Western Australian writer and descendant of the Noongar people, Kim Scott received The University of Queensland Fiction Book Award, while Tracker by Alexis Wright from northern Australia’s Waanyi country was awarded The University of Queensland Non-Fiction Book Award ($15,000 each). Both books keep pivotal places and people alive in the minds of contemporary Australians.

The 2018 awards ceremony acknowledged the 30th anniversary of the Unpublished Indigenous Writer – David Unaipon Award, with The Making of Ruby Champion by Kirstie Parker announced as this year’s $15,000 winning manuscript.

Kirstie is a Yuwallarai woman from north-western NSW, with a distinguished career as a journalist, communicator and advocate. She now joins a host of exceptional writers as a recipient of this award, with alumni including Doris Pilkington Garimara AM, Ruth Hegarty and Larissa Behrendt.

The Queensland Literary Awards, managed by State Library of Queensland, honour outstanding books by Australian authors and champion new writing from young and emerging Queensland writers. Prizes are awarded across 14 categories in fiction, non-fiction, poetry, and published and unpublished works.

Quotes from Minister for the Arts, Leeanne Enoch:

“The Queensland Government supports the Queensland Literary Awards to share our stories, recognise exceptional talent and nurture the next generation of writers.”

“This Government’s ongoing commitment to match sponsorship and philanthrophic support for the Queensland Literary Awards helps to ensure the program’s future growth.”

“I congratulate all of this year’s accomplished authors, and look forward to reading the winning books.”

Quotes from State Librarian and CEO, Vicki McDonald:

“Through our collections, State Library is the trusted keeper of Queensland’s memories and it is wonderful to see such a definitive account of one of this state’s most crucial contemporary events recognised as the Queensland Premier’s Award for a work of State Significance this year.”

“Inspiring possibilities through knowledge, stories and creativity is at the heart of everything we do at State Library and I congratulate all of this year’s Queensland Literary Award winners and finalists.”

“We are also grateful for the role our key partners play in these awards, including the Queensland Government through Arts Queensland, The University of Queensland, Griffith University, University of Southern Queensland, QUT, Copyright Agency Cultural Fund, The Courier-Mail and Jenny Summerson.”

No comments yet.