Queensland’s brightest emerging artists and established legends were celebrated tonight at the 2020 Queensland Music Awards, held at The Fortitude Music Hall.

Minister for the Arts Leeanne Enoch congratulated the winners and finalists in the annual Queensland Music Awards, which recognise Queensland’s best contemporary music talents, exciting emerging artists and exceptional industry achievements.

“The Palaszczuk Government supports local contemporary music, including through funding via Arts Queensland’s Organisations Fund for QMusic, which presents the Queensland Music Awards along with music industry event BIGSOUND; and sponsorship of industry prizes including the Billy Thorpe Scholarship, Grant McLennan Fellowship and Carol Lloyd Award.

“The 2020 awards received a strong field of nominations which demonstrates the vibrancy and diversity of our contemporary music scene and the breadth of talent coming out of, and nurtured in, Queensland.

“New categories for remote song writing talent and Emerging Artist of the Year reflect the outstanding calibre of musical artists across all corners of our state, along with the valuable contributions of our newest musicians.”

With Lynn Thorpe, widow of the late Queensland-bred rocker Billy Thorpe, Minister Enoch presented the 2020 Billy Thorpe Scholarship to Brisbane-based singer-songwriter Harry Phillips.

“Harry writes and performs music with a social message and this Scholarship will enable him to grow his career and continue telling his stories through song,” Ms Enoch said.

“The Palaszczuk Government supports the Billy Thorpe Scholarship by providing $10,000 to an emerging artist to record with an established producer and receive career advice from Chugg Entertainment.

“Congratulations to the other finalists: Brisbane-based Hope D and Jaguar Jonze, and Townsville’s Dan Baker.”

Last year’s Billy Thorpe Scholarship winner Jaimee Fryer, of Brisbane-based pop outfit Pool Shop, said the prize helped her move ahead in her career.

“This grant money has helped me achieve my goal of recording in a professional studio and being able to afford to do it in my own time,” Ms Fryer said.

“I’ve been able to buy equipment to help translate my recorded sound into a live performance and this will be great for coming shows and releases.

“This grant means that I’ll have a tonne of new songs to release this year.”

For more information, go to www.queenslandmusicawards.com.au.

2020 Queensland Music Awards – winners:

Blues / Roots – Busby Marou, Naba Norem (The Reef Song) (songwriters Thomas Busby and Jeremy Marou)
Country – Oh Harlow, Give It A Miss (songwriters Tiana Dennis, Briannah Dennis and Nolan Wynne)
Electronic / Dance – The Kite String Tangle, P()L4R (songwriters Daniel Harley and Bridgette Amofah)
Heavy – DZ Deathrays, Still No Change (songwriters Shane Parsons, Simon Ridley and Lachlan Ewbank)
Hip Hop / Rap – Carmouflage Rose, Sele (songwriters Graham Herrington, James Angus and Matthew Khabbaz)
Indigenous – Mau Power, Arrived ft. Marcus Corowa (songwriter Patrick Mau)
Jazz – Sean Foran, Monkey (songwriter Sean Foran)
Pop – The Jungle Giants, Heavy Hearted (songwriter Sam Hales)
Rock – Eliza & The Delusionals, Just Exist (songwriters Eliza Klatt, Kurt Skuse and Ashley Martin)
Schools – HANNI, Wired (songwriters Hannah Schloman and Marco Ghikas)
Singer Songwriter / Folk – Jaguar Jonze, Beijing Baby (songwriters Deena Lynch and Tim Tan)
Soul / Funk / R’n’B – Pink Matter, Soul Fruit (songwriters Pink Matter)
World Music – Matt Hsu’s Obscure Orchestra, Make Everything ft. apadalia & LOOPY! 鹿皮(songwriters Matthew Hsu and Ashleigh Finlay)
Regional – Leanne Tennant, Bring It All Back (songwriter Leanne Tennant)
Remote – Miiesha, Drowning (songwriters Miiesha Young, Stephen Collins, Mohamed Komba)
Video – The Kite String Tangle, P()L4R (filmmakers Caitlin Johnson, Lucas Thyer, Liam Connor and Brian Lowe)
QMusic Emerging Artist of the Year – Hope D
Song of the Year – The Jungle Giants, Heavy Hearted (songwriter Sam Hales)
Album of the Year – Thelma Plum, Better In Blak
Export Achievement Award – Nat Dunn
People’s Choice Award, Regional Venue of the Year – Solbar
People’s Choice Award, Metro Venue of the Year – The Triffid
People’s Choice Award Festival of the Year – The Big Pineapple Music Festival
Highest Selling Single – The Jungle Giants, Heavy Hearted (songwriter Sam Hales)
Highest Selling Album – Thelma Plum, Better In Blak
QMusic Honorary Award– Denis Handlin AO, Sony Music Entertainment
Billy Thorpe Scholarship – Harry Phillips

No comments yet.