The Online Video Awards Are Set To Go

Screen Queensland brings the Online Video Awards to Brisbane in 2017

The Online Video Awards (OVAs), Australia’s national annual awards celebrating the best in online content, are heading to Brisbane in 2017 for the first time as a result of support from Screen Queensland.
Queensland Premier Annastacia Palaszczuk welcomed the opportunity to put Queensland’s digital creative businesses in the spotlight with the awards.
‘The Queensland Government supports the Online Video Awards through Screen Queensland,’ the Premier said.
‘Hosting the awards in Brisbane builds on the strong foundation Queensland has made in positioning the state as a leader in creative innovation and furthering my government’s Advance Queensland agenda.
‘Last year, Brisbane-based Ludo Studio was the winner of the Innovation Award for their production Doodles, supported by Screen Queensland, which was followed up with an Emmy nomination last month,’ the Premier said.
Screen Queensland CEO Tracey Vieira said the event would provide exposure and opportunities for the local screen industry.
‘Bringing the OVAs to Queensland is part of Screen Queensland’s ambitious strategy to position Queensland as leaders in digital innovation in screen,’ Ms Vieira said.
‘Screen Queensland is investing in more digital content and platforms including Virtual Reality to ensure screen stories from Queensland creators reach global audiences,’ she said.
‘As part of our initiative Queensland Originals with YouTube, we are also helping talented content providers succeed on the world’s most popular video-sharing website by bringing together local screen practitioners with leading YouTube creators to develop and produce new content.
‘We are thrilled to bring the OVAs to Brisbane in 2017,’ Ms Vieira said.
The OVAs attracts the best work from Australian online content creators in 14 categories including Best Comedy, Best Drama, Best Factual, Best Channel and Best Kid’s Content.
In 2015, the combined views for entrants in the OVAs was over two billion.
Judges are drawn from the screen content industry and have included representatives from YouTube, Village Roadshow, Madman, Screen Australia, SAE Brisbane, JMC Academy, Fairfax, ABC iView and high profile creators Tamasin Simpkin (The Katering Show) and Jason Byrne (How to Talk Australians).
Other OVA sponsors include Brisbane Marketing and the Brisbane Powerhouse and with the active involvement of YouTube, QUT, Griffith University and other Queensland educational institutions.
For further details on the Online Video Awards, please visit:

No comments yet.